Have plane, will fly

Evening! I just made my first contribution on tripadvisor.com. I’ve used it before for research on my trip to Jamaica last year, but tonight I used it to bash a hotel I stayed at in Texas. I just love spewing venom about an organization’s shortcomings, don’t you!

Anywhoo, I have decided I will comment on my past hotel stays since I’ve been financing my own vacations, which started in 2001.

2001 Summer San Francisco Chancellor Hotel on Powell

Boutique hotel that made me feel at home in the middle of everything.

2001 Fall San Francisco Cartwright Hotel

Boutique again, comfortable room, but very small and tight, dresser drawer was broken

2003 Spring San Francisco Marriott at SF Int’l Airport

Great food! Comfy room, no complaints

2005,06 or 07-Can’t remember Grand Geneva Resort Summer Lake Geneva, WI

Used to be a Playboy club. Peaceful wooded surroundings, lots of spa and fitness facilities, bit I think the bathroom was a little dated. Room was comfy with an outdoor patio. Restaurant was very expensive. Save your money and go to a restaurant in town. Best suited for for those addicted to golf!

2008 Spring Syracuse NY Renaissance Hotel

Great bed, friendly and helpful staff. Hotel staff gave us directions to dinner and had their shuttle take us to the mall the next day AND picked us up.  Dresser was not large enough for two women staying 4 nights.

2009 Spring New Orleans, LA  Holiday Inn Express

The rooms had no view, though I do like complete darkeness when I sleep, so it was no problem when I was sleeping. Problem was, because of the lack of sunlight, I way overslept. The staff was not friendly, and they made no attempt an usual tourist banter. The self serve breakfast was good and the lady putting the food out was the only one who acted happy to see us. I had a queen bed, and the room was on the small side, but was cozy without being clausterphobic. I saw residue from a spilled drink on the wall, but the bathroom was clean. I stayed at an HI a year later and the manger got to talking to me about their rebranding, I knew that New Orleans HI was not going to meet the standards it had to meet to stay an HIE, and I was right. It is now the Cotton Exchange Hotel. See, you guys should have smiled more.

2010 Summer Chicago Rafaello Hotel

This was my one-night staycation. It was a condo-hotel setup, so there were no major hotel-type amenities. It was cool, since its a block from the Mag Mile and a Cheesecake Factory. I felt at home, though it was just for a night, and I got a free upgrade to a suite. Need I say more?

2011 Spring Superfun Runaway Bay Resort Jamaica

I suppose I can’t rate this the same way as a hotel, but I’ll try anyway. The rooms and fixtures were dated and I’ve never stayed in a tile-floor hotel room. One wall had a weird sponge paint job on it, so it was kind of obvious it was at the lower end. But then, I WAS IN JAMAICA! You don’t stay in your room in Jamaica anyway. The staff was friendly and conversational. The free food was good, I’m sure the paid food was better. So I think I’d have to put the weight on service and cleanliness, so I’d say the cleanliness was good and service was above average.

2011 Summer Holiday Inn Express Bourbonnais, IL

Spent one night, but it was comfy and found out just how out of shape I was after a dip in the pool. The manager here gave us water and Oreos at check-in. He later explained the re-branding and standards HIE’s had to meet to remain part of the brand. Good experience!

2012 Missouri City, TX LaQuinta Hotel

Too much to write, go to Tripadvisor.com.

Leave a Reply

